Baked Falafel with Tahini Sauce

24 Apr

2013-04-23 16.25.16

Almost a month ago I succumbed to peer pressure and joined up with a Weight Watchers group at work. Since then I convinced Seth to do it with me and we’re both tearing it up. I’m down 10 pounds and Seth who has only been at it a couple weeks is down 8. Woohoo! Anyway, I bring this up because I’ve really been struggling to find healthy, delicious meals that won’t use up too many of our daily allotted “points.”

This is one of the gems I found. I was happy to be able to eat something filling with a lot of flavor. The tahini sauce is by far the calorie carrier here, but if you go easy on it (say a tablespoon), you could eat 2 of these bad boys with 2 falafels in each for just 10 points! (I only used 1 tablespoon of olive oil in the falafel mixture, then just sprayed the pan and the tops of the falafel with non-stick spray to save some calories.) A cookie scoop was my best friend in portioning these out and saving my hands from the mess. Doing it this way I ended up with 14 falafel patties. Anyway, these were super easy to make and I plan to add them to my regular rotation!

Go to Recipe

3 Responses to “Baked Falafel with Tahini Sauce”

  1. Unwind Cooking April 24, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    that looks amazing! great photo too.

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide April 25, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    So many things that are fried taste as good baked. This looks wonderful.

  3. vanessa May 6, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    yum. this inspired me to try these spinach and chickpea patties at costco (really good). I have been using tzatziki made with greek yogurt as the sauce instead of tahini to lower the cals a bit. good lunch, thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

