Easiest-Ever Chicken Pot Pie

25 Sep

chicky pot pie

While I have posted the fast version my chicken pot pie before, I have to say this America’s Test Kitchen one is even better. It’s very unfussy and the resulting pie is darn near perfect. I’d say this took about 45 minutes to make from start to finish and that included the time to shred my rotisserie chicken. Not bad. Not bad at all!

Chicken Pot Pie

Serves 4-6

Total Time: 45 minutes

  • 8 ounces white mushrooms, trimmed and quartered
  • 3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken
  • 5 ounces cream cheese, cut into small cubes*
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 ½ cups frozen peas and carrots, thawed
  • 1 refrigerated Pillsbury pie crust

Adjust oven rack to the middle position and heat oven to 425 degrees. Microwave mushrooms on plate lined with 2 layers of coffee filters until softened, about 7 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine shredded chicken, cream cheese (or Boursin), broth, cream, cornstarch, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper in large saucepan and cook over medium-high heat, stirring often, until cheese is melted and mixture is thickened, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in microwaved mushrooms and peas and carrots. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Transfer to a 9-inch deep dish pie plate.

Carefully lay pie crust over top. Tuck overhanging dough underneath itself to be flush with rim of pie plate. Cut three 1-inch steam vents into top of dough. Bake until filling is bubbling and crust is browned, about 25 minutes, rotating pie plate halfway through baking. Let cool slightly and serve.

*Original recipe calls for a 5.2 ounce package of Boursin cheese, crumbled. I’d never heard of Boursin and wasn’t surprised when my local grocery store didn’t carry it. The Internets told me cream cheese was an acceptable substitute and I whole-heartedly agree.

Recipe adapted from the America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook

2 Responses to “Easiest-Ever Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. vanessa September 26, 2013 at 7:43 am #

    I love this recipe too – I have it on my menu for next week!
    (In my store, the Boursin is with the specialty cheeses, goat cheese, etc. and it comes in a box – it’s good!)

    • Karen @ Gravy Training September 26, 2013 at 7:57 am #

      Yeah I think if I wasn’t lazy and made an extra trip to somewhere other than the Walmart, I could probably find it! Ha ha! I’ll have to try it next time 😀

Leave a Reply

