Easy Cheesy Hot Pockets with Spinach

1 Oct

I made these hot pockets tonight and they were so delicious and turned out so pretty I had to post the recipe right away. This recipe came from my America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook in the “Kid Friendly” section. I am happy to report that not only did I love them, but Sylvie did too! I will definitely be making these again soon!

hot pockets

Serves 4

Total Time: 35 minutes

“Avoid using buttermilk or other flavored biscuits here.”

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 ounces (1/2 cup) whole-milk ricotta cheese
  • 4 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded (1 cup)
  • 1 ounce Parmesan cheese, grated (1/2 cup)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 4 ounces frozen chopped spinach, thawed, squeezed dry
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh oregano
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 (16-ounce) tube refrigerator biscuits (8 biscuits)
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 450 degrees. Brush rimmed baking sheet with 1 tablespoon oil. Combine remaining 2 tablespoons oil, ricotta, mozzarella, Parmesan, garlic, spinach, oregano, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper in bowl.

Press each biscuit flat into 6-inch round. Spread filling evenly over bottom half of each dough round, leaving 1/2-inch border at edge. Brush dough edges lightly with egg, then fold top of dough over filling, leaving 1/4-inch lip of bottom edge exposed. Fold bottom lip over seam and press firmly to seal. Lay pockets, seam side down, on prepared baking sheet. Brush with egg and, using sharp knife, cut 2 (1-inch) steam vents along top.

Bake until golden, 10 to 12 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway through baking. Transfer pockets to wire rack and let cool slightly before serving.

Variations

Easy Cheesy Hot Pockets with Broccoli

Add 4 ounces frozen broccoli florets, thawed, patted dry, and chopped to filling in place of spinach.

Easy Cheesy Hot Pockets

Increase amount of ricotta to 1 cup and eliminate spinach.

From: The America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook

4 Responses to “Easy Cheesy Hot Pockets with Spinach”

  1. Junie October 11, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    I have to admit I’m delighted delighted delighted how much use you’ve gotten from the ATK cookbook! Hooray. This recipe looks especially wonderful–I think Paul would love it. (But who wouldn’t?? Do you think you could use fresh cooked spinach? Or is frozen for some reason better?) I’m also fascinated by the cornbread recipe. Partly because you use whole kernels, but mostly because you made it from scratch. We always use the box! I sorta assumed that was the only way to make it. Heh heh. And… oh, I love plums. I bet I would love those pastries. But rather than making them myself, I would love to eat ones that YOU made. (Wait, one more thing: Paul’s been asking for trifle for his bday. I know he checks here and reads your recipes on and off fairly frequently, but I don’t think he reads the comments, so I think I’m safe to ask–do you have any trifle recipes you’re partial to? Or general hints?) XO Junie

    • Karen @ Gravy Training October 13, 2013 at 10:20 am #

      I’m sure fresh spinach would just fine! Using frozen just eliminates a cooking step. But yeah, all the things I’ve made lately were super easy. I’m sure Paul would love to make them for you! Ha ha! As far as the trifle goes, I have to admit I’ve never made one. Though I’m sure I’ve pinned a couple on the Pinterest! Does that count? Here’s the links to some I thought looked good:
      http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/pumpkin-gingerbread-trifle
      http://www.jensyummyfun.com/2009/07/peach-cobbler-trifle.html
      http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/colossal-caramel-apple-trifle

      Good luck! I’m curious to see what you decide to make. Let me know how it goes!

      • Junie October 15, 2013 at 12:53 am #

        Oh, no, Karen. I think I need to make them all! Each one sounds so, so good. And I’m really supposed to limit my dairy. DARN IT!! Ah, but Paul’s birthday only comes but once a year. Although, maybe somehow it will start coming more often, depending on how the trifle turns out. (How will I ever pick just one?!) Anyway, thanks so much! I was sort of stuck… He asked quite awhile ago. Now, no excuses! 🙂

    • Karen @ Gravy Training October 18, 2013 at 7:48 am #

      Oh so I thought I’d respond to this again because I actually did use fresh spinach for these last night. Somehow I had an extra 6oz bag laying around that I needed to use. Anyway, I just cooked it up, squeezed (squoze?) out the water, and chopped it up. It worked just as well. Taste-wise I don’t think I could tell a difference between the two so I’ll probably just use frozen for simplicity’s sake on a regular basis. But either way works great!

Leave a Reply

