Plum Pocket Pies

10 Oct

I was lovingly gifted with a box of fresh plums from Seth’s parents on our recent trip up to Idaho. I have to be honest and say that normally I’m not a huge fan of plums and I didn’t know what I was going to do with all of them. But, Seth’s mom insisted that plum pies were delicious so I figured I’d start there and see what happened. I’m not really sure how I came upon the pocket pie idea, but once I saw it, I had to get me one. There are several varieties available, but I chose the Nordic Ware Pocket Pie Crimper because it featured metal hinges instead of plastic, and was very affordable at about $12. I do have to say I didn’t press down on the handles (just pushed on the edges) as they didn’t provide enough pressure and felt a bit flimsy, but other than that I was very happy with it. These pies turned out so delicious, I can’t wait to see what other concoctions I can create!

plum pocket pies

  • 1/3 cup sugar (plus additional for sprinkling)
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups diced plums (approximately 10 small plums)
  • 1 package Pillsbury Refrigerated 9″ Pie Crusts (2 crusts)
  • 1 egg, beaten

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and heat oven to 400 degrees. Combine 1/3 cup sugar and cornstarch in a medium bowl. Add diced plums and toss gently to coat; set aside.

Using the back of the pie press, cut 2 circles out of each crust. Combine the scraps and roll out into another circle and cut with the pie press, giving you 3 total rounds per pie crust. One at a time, place each round on the indented side of the pie press and place 1/4 cup of the plum mixture in the center (I used an ice cream-sized scoop). Use a pastry brush to coat the edge of the crust on one side with beaten egg. Carefully fold the press together, evening out the layer of plums as necessary. Press tightly to seal and remove pie to baking sheet. Repeat with remaining rounds.

Brush the tops of each pie with beaten egg and  sprinkle with sugar. Cut two 1-inch slits in the top to vent. Bake for 20-25 minutes until pies are golden brown. Allow to cool for about 10 minutes and serve.

Makes 6 pocket pies

Adapted from Home is Where the Boat Is

Leave a Reply

