Grandma’s Apple Pie

31 Oct

Although I’ve made some delicious apple pies in the past, I’ve never been 100% satisfied with them. Probably because in my mind I always compared them to my grandma’s pies. Grandmas’ pies are always the best, are they not? So, recently when I went to visit her, I asked my grandma for her recipe. I think she makes hers by memory and some super grandma-pie-making-instinct these days, but lucky for me she had the base recipe she initially started from. I was thrilled to find the results were just what I was looking for.

Now I chose to make hand pies instead of a regular full pie. I used a box of Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust (there’s 2 crusts) and it made 7 hand pies using half the following recipe. You’ll want to let the filling cool before filling (I put mine in the fridge for a few minutes) otherwise it makes them really weak. A couple of mine split before I caught on. I used about 1/3 cup of filling in each pie, brushed some beaten egg on one edge, then crimped. Then I brushed the top of each pie with more egg, sprinkled a bit of sugar over the tops, and cut 2 vent holes. Baked on a parchment lined baking sheet for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees.

2013-10-31 13.34.07

Grandma’s Apple Pie 

  • 7 tart apples
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 rounded Tablespoons Instant Clear Jel*
  • 1 dash salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon ( I doubled this)
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 recipe for double pie crust

Wash, peel, and slice or dice apples. Put into medium-size saucepan with water. Bring to a boil and simmer 5 minutes. In a dry bowl, mix sugar, instant clear jel, salt, and cinnamon. Mix dry ingredients with apples. Add lemon juice. Pour into unbaked crust. Dot with butter or margarine. Cover with crust. Bake 375 degrees for 45 minutes, or until crust is golden brown.

 

In case you’re wondering what “Instant Clear Jel” is, it’s an instant powdered thickener. I use a brand called “Ultra Gel.”

2013-10-30 16.50.24

2 Responses to “Grandma’s Apple Pie”

  1. sybaritica October 31, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Is the clear gel a starch or a protein based product?

Leave a Reply

