Best Ever Pumpkin Pie with Coconut Milk Whipped Cream

5 Dec

Pumpkin Pie

I realize this post is a little late with it being after Thanksgiving and all but this recipe really needs to be shared. So, truth be told, I have posted this recipe before, but it was so delicious I had to revive it. I made two of these pies for Thanksgiving and then one more again this week just because I really wanted some more. There are so many good elements to this pie: perfect texture, just the right amount of spices, and the all important ease of assembly.

When I attempted to make my most recent pie I realized we were almost out of eggs so I decided to try using an egg replacer powder instead. It actually worked out pretty well. I think the texture might have been slightly less firm than the ones I made with real eggs, but it’s hard to know if that was from the egg replacer or just a normal variation in the baking. But it was by no means bad and I wouldn’t hesitate to use the egg replacer again.

whole pumpkin pie

Another reason I made my most recent pie was because I wanted to try making whipped cream out of coconut milk. It seems to be all the rage these days and I was curious as to whether it would work and if it would taste good. I’ve put a link to the recipe I used and I highly suggest you follow the instructions to a T. I would suggest one difference in the process, however. That is, when you put your coconut milk in the fridge to chill, put them in upside-down so when you flip them over to open them, the liquid part will already be at the top. I tried to cheat the system a little and I think it made my coconut milk mix together a little which made my whipped cream not quite so fluffy as it should have been. Good news is, after chilling in the fridge it firmed up quite a bit. As far as the taste goes, I thought it turned out really well. The texture was just like that of regular whipped cream. I could definitely taste a light coconut flavor, but didn’t think it clashed with the taste of the pie at all. It was a really good alternative to regular whipped cream and I like that I can keep a can of coconut milk on hand to have fresh whipped cream whenever I need it. A win I say!

Best Ever Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Coconut Milk Whipped Cream Recipe

 

Leave a Reply

