Homemade Corn Dogs (and Hush Puppies!)

2 Jan

corn dogs

I had a hankering for corn dogs the other day and thought I’d try my hand at making some! I stumbled upon this recipe and have to say it was a real winner. These were so easy to make and tasted great!  I only made 8 corn dogs and had enough batter left over to make about 12 hush puppies. Perfect!

So just a couple of tips for you to make the process a bit easier. After rolling the hot dogs in flour, I ran my hand over each one to ensure an even, smooth coating. When adding milk to the batter, I added just enough so that it ran off a spoon in a steady stream without breaking. Then to dip the hot dogs, I poured the batter into a tall glass so it was easier to fully submerge them. I then used the extra batter and a cookie scoop to make a bunch of little hush puppies (Sylvie LOVED these). I think next time I might make little corn puppies… cut up my hot dogs into thirds before coating with batter. No sticks and easy eating, especially for kids!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 ¾ cups flour (plus enough to coat hot dogs)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 egg
  • milk
  • 16 hot dogs
  • 16 wooden skewers
  • oil (for frying)

Directions:

  1. Heat 2″ deep oil to 375º F.
  2. Meanwhile, combine cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Add egg and just enough milk so the batter runs off a spoon in a steady stream without breaking. (Too much milk, and batter wont stay on hot dogs, too little and your batter when fried will be cracked).
  3. Dry off hot dogs with paper towels, coat with flour, and skewer through the center of the hot dog.
  4. Dip skewered hot dogs into batter mix (batter may be poured into a tall glass for easier dipping) and rotate to coat evenly. Allow excess batter to drip from end before carefully placing in hot oil. Fry until golden brown (about 2 ½ minutes). Let cool and drain on a paper towel.
  5. Drop leftover batter like dumplings into the oil until golden brown and drain.

Recipe adapted from Food.com

Leave a Reply

