Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken & “Rice” Soup

17 Jan

Slow Cooker Chicken and Rice
Things have been a little slow around here this month in the food department. Not that I have cooked, it’s just that I haven’t been very inspired or impressed by anything I’ve made lately. I’ve been trying to drop a couple pounds and let’s be honest… a lot of times healthy food just tastes so darn… healthy. But that just means, when I finally do post something, you know it’s worth making! Like this soup!

I got this recipe from a newly acquired cookbook called “Paleo Slow Cooker Soups & Stews” by Amelia Simons. This is my first venture into the book and I’m happy to say it was a success. Tons of flavor and super easy to make. Now I actually made this on the stove top in a couple of hours, but the results should be very similar to the slow cooker method. The changes I made involved cooking the onions in a pot with the garlic and chicken, then adding the rest of the ingredients and simmering on low for an hour or so. I also used a bag of frozen cauliflower (thawed) to make the “rice.” I was going to get fresh stuff but it was $3 for a tiny head of cauliflower at the grocery store which I thought seemed ridiculously expensive. The last thing I would suggest is to go towards the low end on the chicken amount. The recipe calls for 2.5-3 pounds of chicken breasts and I used 2.5 lbs. This still seemed like a lot of chicken. I’d suggest closer to 2 pounds for a better ratio.

Anyway, after all was said and done, this was a very easy meal to throw together and healthy to boot! An excellent “healthy” meal that everyone will be happy to eat!

mexican soup

Ingredients

  • 2½ to 3 pounds chicken breast, sliced into strips (I’d suggest only 2 pounds)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 1 (14 ounce) jar of roasted red peppers, chopped medium
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1½ cups chicken broth
  • 1½ tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 4 teaspoons cumin powder
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons coarse black pepper
  • 1 large head cauliflower
  • 4 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. Coat the slow cooker insert with coconut oil and turn it on HIGH while you get your ingredients ready.
  2. Place the chicken slices, garlic, onions, and peppers in the bottom of the slow cooker. Gently pour in the diced tomatoes and chicken broth.
  3. Add the chili powder, garlic powder, oregano, cumin, salt and pepper.
  4. Cover with the lid and turn the slow cooker down to LOW. Cook for 6 hours.
  5. Several minutes before you want to serve the soup, pulse the cauliflower in a food processor until you have the consistency of rice.
  6. Empty the cauliflower into a serving bowl and mix in the fresh cilantro.*
  7. When ready to serve, place some “rice” in the bottom of a soup bowl and cover with the chicken soup.

*I just mixed all my cauliflower and cilantro in with the soup to save cleaning an extra bowl.

Leave a Reply

