Red Velvet Strawberry Shortcake

19 May

The moment I saw this cake on Pinterest, I knew I had to make it. When I actually read the recipe and realized how easy it was to make, it increased my interest ten fold. This is the biggest cake I’ve ever made. Four layers to be exact. But it had to be big. It had to look amazing. It had to taste amazing. Why? Well because I was making a cake for not only my mom & grandma for Mother’s Day, but it was both of their birthdays as well. That’s a tall order… just like this cake! HA!

Just to tell you how easy this thing was to make, all you do is make 2 boxed cakes. One red velvet, one white. Then alternating the layers, you stack them with a layer of whipped cream and strawberries in between. That’s it! You can use Cool Whip like the recipe suggests, or you can make your own to save on cost (and improve taste!). I used a quart of whipping cream and it was plenty for between the layers and to cover the outside. I love this recipe for whipping cream as it holds up really well. Also, I used one container of store-bought frosting for a crumb coat around the outside of the cake. This helped to keep the strawberries and red cake from bleeding through the whipped cream. I also always freeze my cake layers before assembly to make handling and frosting way easier. Box cakes are especially fragile so freezing them really helps a ton. Plus the cake easily thaws in just a few hours and there’s no affect on the quality of the cake at all!

So next time you need an easy, crowd pleasing dessert, make this cake. It will make you cry tears of joy.

Go to Recipe

6 Responses to “Red Velvet Strawberry Shortcake”

  1. trialsinfood May 19, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    what an impressive looking cake for an all important occassion!

  2. frugalfeeding May 20, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    Really impressive indeed! Rather deadly though šŸ˜€

  3. Shawna (bluestmuse) May 20, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Ohhhhh I want that!

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 21, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    I love the idea of combining these two.

  5. vanessa May 22, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    This looks great – and perfect for celebrating my bf’s birthday this weekend since he’s a HUGE strawberry lover. Can you walk me through the freezing of the cakes process though? I’m majorly baking-challenged.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training May 22, 2012 at 7:18 am #

      I just line a baking sheet with parchment paper and turn out the cooked, cooled cakes onto it.. 2 layers will barely fit on one sheet. Then you just cover the sheet with plastic wrap and stick it in the freezer! I actually made my cakes a day ahead of time to save some work on the day I needed them, so I’m not sure exactly how long they take to freeze all the way through. I’d imagine if they’re completely cooled, 2-3 hours would make them frozen enough to ease handling & frosting. Sure is a lot nicer to be able to toss the layers around without worrying about them crumbling!

Leave a comment